Minimum Wage Attorney
San Mateo Wage Lawyers
All California employers are required to pay their employees at the proper minimum wage. In California, minimum wage requirements are set federal, state, and local laws. Employers are required to pay their employees at the highest of the three, failure to do so will cause the employer to violate one of the laws.
As you could probably guess, the federal minimum wage is the lowest, followed by state minimum wage, and then local wage ordinances, if applicable, such as the San Mateo Minimum Wage requirements. If an employer has failed to pay you at the proper San Mateo Minimum Wage, for whatever reason, it has committed wage theft. As a result, the employee could be owed thousands in unpaid wages, penalties, and other money damages!
San Mateo Minimum Wage Requirements
January 1, 2020
January 1, 2019
January 1, 2018
January 1, 2017
Frequently Asked Questions
Q: How do employers fail to pay employees the San Mateo Minimum Wage?
A: There are a number of ways! The common scenarios include:
Outright refusal to do so
Misclassification as an independent contractor
Mischaracterization as a salary-exempt employee
Failing to pay employees for all hours worked.
Q: What law covers the San Mateo Minimum Wage?
A: In August 2016, San Mateo legislatures adopted San Mateo's Minimum Wage Ordinance which set the minimum wage over California's minimum wage. San Mateo recognized that living on the peninsula is more expensive than other parts of California. For more information about the San Mateo's Minimum Wage Ordinance, click HERE.
Q: My employer is not physically located in San Mateo, but I still perform my work there. Am I still covered?
A: Yes. San Mateo's Minimum wage Ordinance covers any employee who "performs 2 hours or more of work per week within the geographic boundaries of the City of San Mateo, including employees who are under 18."
California Minimum Wage Requirements
$12 / hr (25 or fewer employees)
$13 / hr (26 or more employees)
$11 / hr (25 or fewer employees)
$12 / hr (26 or more employees)
$10.50 / hr (25 or fewer employees)
$11 / hr (26 or more employees)
$10 / hr (25 or fewer employees)
$10.50 / hr (26 or more employees)