Our Areas of Practice
San Francisco Minimum Wage Attorney
All California employees have a right to earn a minimum wage, as set by state and local governments. Where a city or county has set a local minimum wage, the employee must be paid at that minimum wage - a wage greater than the current California minimum wage, as outlined below.
If an employer fails to pay an employee, including part-time and temporary employees, the proper local minimum wage, that employer has committed wage theft and could be liable to the employee for the thousands in unpaid wages, extensive penalties, and other money damages!
San Francisco Minimum Wage Requirements
July 1, 2021
July 1, 2019
July 1, 2020
July 1, 2018
Has your employer failed to pay you the proper minimum wage?
Recover Your Unpaid Wages and Monetary Damages.
Let us help!
Q: How do employers fail to pay employees the San Francisco Minimum Wage?
A: Yes. The San Francisco Minimum Wage Ordinance defines a covered employee as, any person who "performs at least two (2) hours of work for an employer within the geographic boundaries of the City." It does not matter that your employer is not actually located within San Francisco so long as you were required to perform work there.
A: There are a number of ways! The common scenarios include:
Outright refusal to do so
Misclassification as an independent contractor
Mischaracterization as a salary-exempt employee
Failing to pay employees for all hours worked
Q: My employer is not physically located in San Francisco, but I still perform my work there. Am I still covered?
Frequently Asked Questions
California Minimum Wage Requirements
- $13 / hr (25 or fewer employees)
$14 / hr (26 or more employees)
- $12 / hr (25 or fewer employees)
$13 / hr (26 or more employees)
- $11 / hr (25 or fewer employees)
$12 / hr (26 or more employees)
- $10.50 / hr (25 or fewer employees)
$11 / hr (26 or more employees)
- $10 / hr (25 or fewer employees)
$10.50 / hr (26 or more employees)