Our Areas of Practice
Oakland Wage Minimum Wage Attorney
California employees have a right to earn minimum wage. This right is set at the Federal and State level. However, in California, some local jurisdictions have opted to create minimum wage guidelines to better serve the people within their counties.
At a minimum, all California employees must get paid the California minimum wage, as outlined below. Employers who do business in Oakland must pay their employees at Oakland’s minimum wage rates, as indicated below. Some employers intentionally refuse to pay their employees at the appropriate minimum wage, hoping they will not get caught. When this happens, the employer is committing wage theft and the employee may be owed thousands in unpaid wages, penalties and other money damages!
Oakland Minimum Wage Requirements
January 1, 2021
January 1, 2019
January 1, 2020
January 1, 2018
Q: How do employers fail to pay employees the Oakland Minimum Wage?
A: Yes. Oakland’s Measure FF covers any employee who "performs at least two (2) hours of work, in a particular workweek, in Oakland." It does not matter that your employer is not actually located within Oakland, so long as you were required to perform work there.
A: There are a number of ways! The common scenarios include:
Outright refusal to do so
Misclassification as an independent contractor
Mischaracterization as a salary-exempt employee
Failing to pay employees for all hours worked
Q: My employer is not physically located in Oakland, but I still perform my work there. Am I still covered?
Frequently Asked Questions
California Minimum Wage Requirements
- $13 / hr (25 or fewer employees)
$14 / hr (26 or more employees)
- $12 / hr (25 or fewer employees)
$13 / hr (26 or more employees)
- $11 / hr (25 or fewer employees)
$12 / hr (26 or more employees)
- $10.50 / hr (25 or fewer employees)
$11 / hr (26 or more employees)
- $10 / hr (25 or fewer employees)
$10.50 / hr (26 or more employees)