Our Areas of Practice
Fremont Minimum Wage Attorney
California employees have a right to earn minimum wage. Minimum wage is set by Federal, State, and Local laws. As you may know, when it comes to laws, the more local the laws, the more restrictive they are. This is because local governments are allowed to narrow the law, but not expand it.
As such, Fremont has decided to issue its own local minimum wage ordinance, which is currently higher than the California minimum wage requirements. Regardless of which law, employers often fail to pay their employees the bare minimum wage. This results in the employee losing out on thousands of dollars in lost/stolen wages. Wage theft can occur in a number of ways, for example, when an employer intentionally misclassifies an employee as an independent contractor, incorrectly misclassifies an employee as being an exempt-salaried employee, or fails to pay the employee for all their time spent working.
Fremont Minimum Wage Requirements
July 1, 2021
July 1, 2019
-Based on Consumer Price Index (>26)
- $13.50/hour (>26)
- $11.00/hour (<26)
July 1, 2020
Has your employer failed to pay you the proper minimum wage?
Recover Your Unpaid Wages and Monetary Damages.
Let us help!
Q: How do employers fail to pay employees the Fremont Minimum Wage?
A: If your employer fired you for complaining about minimum wage violations, that is illegal and you may have a claim for wrongful termination and unpaid minimum wages, interest, and all associated penalties! California is serious when it comes to protecting employee’s rights!
A: There are a number of ways! The common scenarios include:
Outright refusal to do so
Misclassification as an independent contractor
Mischaracterization as a salary-exempt employee
Failing to pay employees for all hours worked
Q: Can I be fired if I complain about not receiving the proper minimum wage?
Frequently Asked Questions
California Minimum Wage Requirements
- $13 / hr (25 or fewer employees)
$14 / hr (26 or more employees)
- $12 / hr (25 or fewer employees)
$13 / hr (26 or more employees)
- $11 / hr (25 or fewer employees)
$12 / hr (26 or more employees)
- $10.50 / hr (25 or fewer employees)
$11 / hr (26 or more employees)
- $10 / hr (25 or fewer employees)
$10.50 / hr (26 or more employees)